Thanksgiving, some Crafting & some Home Renovations

Good Morning!

Aaron is in bed sleeping and I’m sitting on the couch thinking about what we’re going to do today. I’m thinking we may go and get a Christmas tree and put up a few decorations.

Thanksgiving happened and I did a couple of crafts for it. We had my Aunt, Uncle & cousin over plus Aaron’s parents and brother. Aaron’s dad cooked the turkey and stuffing at our house while we all helped with the rest.

I made “Give Thanks” bundting. I think the appropriate word is bundting though Ecto is underlining it. Then again, Ecto was just underlined also. IMG_7597.JPG

I used adhesive glitter letters from Michael’s, a glue stick, scrapbook paper and kitchen twine. The hardest part of the whole project was making the triangles the right size and shape to fit the circles and the letters. Once I figured that out, it just took a little time to cut and glue everything. I like how it turned out! The pictures aren’t that great because the lighting isn’t good in the dining room and I don’t know how to use the settings on my camera very well. (We also put up curtains in the dining room finally! I ended up buying them at Ikea after one failed attempt at making them myself. I now have quite a few yards of cut up linen…)

IMG_7598.JPG

The other little project I did for Thanksgiving was making glittered branches. Aaron and I walked over to the cemetery to gather some branches for this one. We brought them back, I trimmed them a bit then used spray adhesive to spray parts and then sprinkle on the glitter. I ended up putting flowers in mason jars for Thanksgiving and putting a couple of branches in with the flowers. Cheap Thanksgiving decorations! Branches are free! It’s rustic.

IMG_7601.JPG

IMG_7604.JPG

For Christmas, I was thinking of maybe spray painting some branches white then using some white glitter to make them more wintery.

I didn’t take any pictures of the Thanksgiving table unfortunately..not sure why.. but our tablecloth was a bit short with all three leaves in the table so I bought 4 yards of pale green burlap from JoAnn Fabric, folded it in half and used it as a runner on the table. It covered the uncovered ends and burlap is pretty cool and super cheap. It’s also machine washable (which I found out because I spilled gravy all over it).

So that’s what happened Thanksgiving week for the most part. Aaron also started paint stripping and staining ours stairs and he hung new doors in the bathroom and our bedroom. Doors that actually close and aren’t hideously yellowed wood! Yay! We got them both at the ReStore in Edgewood for $10 each. The doorknobs ended up costing more than the doors!

We went shopping for the doors in matching plaid.

IMG_7595.JPG

Aaron painted the doors white.

IMG_7605.JPG

With doorknobs! (Some painting still needs to be done but we needed to have a bathroom door for Thanksgiving)

IMG_7614.JPG

And in developments this week… we made an offer on a house! And then they counter-offered the full asking price 😦 So then we counter-offered back! And now we wait probably until Monday to find out. It’s a foreclosure so we’re waiting to hear back from the bank as opposed to regular sellers.

That’s about it for now… Have a relaxing day!